Home Page
Main Buttons

external members
<July 2014>

external members
Skip Navigation LinksChoose Maryland > About Us

Boards & Commisions

Maryland Economic Development Commission

The mission of the Maryland Economic Development Commission is to establish economic development policy in the State and to oversee the Department of Business and Economic Development’s (DBED) efforts to support the creation, attraction, and retention of businesses and jobs. Founded in 1995, the 31-member Commission draws upon the expertise of the State’s business leaders to inform State economic development efforts by providing a comprehensive evaluation of the State’s business climate and recommending to the Governor the policies, programs, and spending priorities needed.

 Steve Dubin   


Susan J. Ganz is the Chief Executive Officer of Lion Brothers Company Inc., a manufacturing firm based in Baltimore, Maryland. Lion Brothers Company Inc. is a world leader in the manufacturing and distribution of embroidered and appliquéd emblems. Lion is a female-owned business today that operates manufacturing facilities in the U.S. and China employing more than 700 individuals worldwide. Susan obtained an MBA in Finance and Multinational Management from Wharton.

  • Timothy Adams; Founder/CEO, SA-Tech, Inc.
  • Paul Ausley; President, Ausley Associates, Inc.
  • Ward Barney; COO, Cadista Pharmaceuticals
  • Thomas Burlin; President/CEO, Burlin Consulting Service
  • Angela Franco; President/CEO, Greater Washington Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Seth Goldman; President/TeaEO, Honest Tea
  • Timothy Hodge; Chair, MEDC Business Climate Sub-Committee/Principal, Miles & Stockbridge
  • A. Reza Jafari; Chair, MEDC Innovation, Commercialization & Entrepreneurship Sub-Committee/CEO, E-Development International
  • Nicholas E. Johansson, Esquire; Counsel; Whiteford, Taylor & Preston
  • Dr. Landon King; Executive Vice Dean, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Raj Khera; CEO, MailerMailer
  • Williams "Brit" Kirwan; Chancellor, University System of Maryland
  • Manish Kothari; President/CEO, Shaladia Associates, Inc.
  • Ricardo Martinez; Chairman/CEO, Project Enhancement Corp.
  • John McLaughlin; President/CEO, DAP Products, Inc.
  • Ellen Moyer; Former Mayor of Annapolis 
  • David Severn; Esquire/Chair, MEDC Regional Diversity & Infrastructure Sub-Committee, Severn & Kresslein, PA
  • A. Nayab Siddiui; President, Scientific Systems & Software International Corporation
  • Robert Smelkinson; Chairman, Smelkinson Sysco Food Services, Inc.
  • Dana B. Stebbins; Esquire/President & CEO, The Cornelius Group
  • Harold Stinger; Chairman of the Board, Ghaffarian Technologies (SGT), Inc.

Ex-Officio Members

  • Dominick Murray; Secretary, DBED
  • Harold Adams; Chairman Emeritus, RTKL Associates, Inc.
  • James C. Dinegar; President & CEO, Greater Washington Board of Trade
  • Don Fry; President, Greater Baltimore Committee
  • Jeff Fuchs; Executive Director World Class Cortia;
  • Ackneil M. Muldrow II; CEO, Parker Muldrow & Associates, LLC

          News & Events    Meetings

Gov. O'Malley, Economic Developmenet Commission Release Five-Year Plan to Position State for Growth in the New Economy





The meeting dates for 2014 are:

  • May 6, 9-11 am, BWTECH South @ UMBC
  • July 15,  10 am-noon, 17th Floor Conference Room, World Trade Center Baltimore (WTCB)
  • September 17, 1-3 pm, WTC 17th Floor Conference Room, WTCB
  • November 5, 10 am-noon, 17th Floor Conference Room, WTCB  

      Start a BusinessBusiness ResourcesMove Your BusinessLive in MarylandWork in MarylandFacts and StatsTwitterFaceBookFlickrLinkedInYouTube

Social Media Buttons

Stacey Harvey-Reid
Office of Strategic Industries & Innovation
401 E. Pratt St, 15th floor
Baltimore, MD 21202